What works best in NYC

(9 posts)
  1. nptdear

newbite

Posted 5 years ago
    Sat Jul 14 2012 15:50:40
    #

Login to Send PM

A friend just discovered her apartment has become host to bedbugs, and I made this to-do list for her from my own experiences. I’ve had the misfortune of living in two NYC apartments with bugs, and I’m the only person I know to have successfully rid myself of them. Twice. I’m not an entomologist, I’m not an expert: this is just what worked for me and I haven't seen a bedbug in my apartment for years. There’s a lot of crap information out there, and this is the best of what I’ve learned from exterminators, experience, and this forum.

First of all: if you suspect you have bedbugs, you have bedbugs. Don’t lie to yourself. The longer you wait, the worse your situation. If your entire building is infested, move out after you’ve professionally treated and hermetically sealed off your belongings. Don’t waste time.

You’ll need:
    Good vacuum with a suction attachment and lots of removable, disposable bags
    Rubber gloves
    Kill spray, Bedlam works best
    A poison sold as “Nuvan Prostrips”
    Heavy duty contractor bags at least 3ml thick and packaging tape
    Mattress cover
    Ammonia