Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Detection / Identification of bed bugs

What causes the skin reactions associated with bedbug bites?

(8 posts)
  1. ITortureBugs4Revenge

Posted 4 years ago
    Fri Feb 14 2014 4:37:57
    #

Login to Send PM

I have always wanted to know what bedbugs possibly inject into the skin while feeding on someone that causes the characteristic red welts to form on most of their victims. Is it some kind of digestive enzymes, bacteria, e.t.c.?

.....I am NOT an expert.....

Any advice i give here is based solely on my own personal experiences in dealing with bedbugs & other household vermin.
  2. ITortureBugs4Revenge

Posted 4 years ago
    Fri Feb 14 2014 4:55:37
    #

Login to Send PM

Btw, just to clarify things i am well aware that bedbugs don't in fact "bite" but instead pierce the skin. I just use the word bite because the word is so familiar to people when talking about bedbugs.

3. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 4 years ago
    Fri Feb 14 2014 7:27:03
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

In short its more complex than that.

Some of the factors that cause the skin reaction are:

• Bodies response to the physical damage of piercing the skin
    • Immune mediated response to the bedbug or something transferred during the bite
    • Response to the air quality at the time of the bite
    • Response to the air quality after the bite

They do not transfer a digestive fluid as flies do when feeding or bacteria. In essence the bedbug actually wants the host to be as healthy as possible so they continue to be a source of food. Haematophages that harm the host do not get to feed as frequently from the food source and thus its a huge evolutionary disadvantage.

Hope that helps.

David Cain
    Bed Bugs Limited

If you have found this information helpful please consider leaving feedback on social media via google+ or FaceBook or by like/loving the images.