1. Agoraphobia

newbite

Posted 4 months ago
    Sat Jun 2 2018 16:57:08
    #

Login to Send PM

To recap my situation:

Discovering There's a Problem & First PCO

I got two bites on my neck about two weeks ago. When they didn't go away and were still extremely itchy a week later, I started becoming concerned. I searched my bed, box spring, night tables, baseboard, and carpet for bed bugs, but didn't find any. (Not surprising, I'm not an expert.) When my personal search failed, I called in the first pest control company I could find to inspect my place. We stripped the bed and he immediately found two black bugs around the rim of my box spring, but nothing else.

He told me they were bed bugs and I must have caught it incredibly early because he couldn't see any signs of any infestation, nests, droppings, babies, anything - just the two bugs. He didn't invite me to see them at close range (all I saw were two dark-colored, unmoving dots) and he didn't kill or capture them - he just let them keep remaining there on the mattress while we talked. He then told me I'd need chemical treatment, how invasive it was, etc. He also said he would give me a discount (unprompted).

At this point I'm completely freaking out and immediately agree to the treatment and tell him to come back Monday for the first spray. (It was Friday at this point.) He never showed me any paperwork and I didn't sign any contract, though, because he never gave me one. (All of this only occurred to me after he'd left.) In my panic I immediately began prepping my place for the chemical treatments and spent the weekend doing all the laundry; bagging up all my things; buying mattress, box spring, and pillow protectors as well as ClimbUp traps, airtight containers, double-sided tape, and giant Ziploc bags; and a ZappBug heater. (And crying constantly because I was so scared and overwhelmed.)