University Student, and stressed

(27 posts)
  1. sleepyeyes

newbite

Posted 12 years ago
    Thu Oct 18 2007 20:52:23
    #

Login to Send PM

I hear everyone. I am a student in psychology, and aside from my studies being severely affected by the recent outbreak of BB's at my house, I am interested in the psychological distress we are all under... Does anyone else feel traumatized? All I think about is "are there BB's here? Is that one? Did I bring one with me? What if my house is reinfested?" I don't seem to hear much positive things, and I am afraid to sleep at home at night. I constantly feel like crying, and no one seems to really understand- just yesterday I saw a bug on my bed (I sprayed two days ago), and starting freaking out. I called my friend and started bawling- he asked "Did you not do everything I told you to?"
    Want to know how he told me to deal with them? Oh, well, vaccuum, clean everything, and that should get rid of it. When I start crying about a bug I had seen, he laughed at me... I guess I must have lost perspective, but all I want to do at this point is run away. I have trouble feeling safe... Exams, essays and life calls still. We need a bedbug awareness campaign!

2. Nobugsonme

your host

Posted 12 years ago
    Fri Oct 19 2007 0:16:29
    #

Login to Send PM

Yes we do, sleepy. Sorry for your trouble. We do understand. And it definitely causes psychological distress. Some Bedbuggers have sought therapy and reported good results. Some have had relationships end over their different perspectives (for example, she's bitten and losing it, he's not and thinks she's crazy). It is seriously stressful. But it will pass.

I started and run the site but am "not an expert."
  3. tlmedlin5

newbite

Posted 12 years ago
    Fri Oct 19 2007 11:34:59
    #

Login to Send PM