The time it might take ... to find them

(8 posts)
  1. Kater

Posted 5 years ago
    Wed Dec 18 2013 4:06:17
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi!
    I answered this to another's post, but, being relatively new (almost 10 months) to dealing with bed bugs, I got scared I might be giving false information, so I would like to ask the experts here what they think about my math:

After my first, ultimately failed, heat treatment, I did a bit of research to find out how long I would have to wait to be absolutely sure. I do not know how reliable the information is that I found, and I am not an expert, so I would like an expert to read this and say his/piece about it. But I looked at many different websites, then I read a few academically published papers that were accessible over my university's library. What I found is this: Under ideal conditions, the time that it takes for a freshly laid egg to develop into a fuly grown bed bug that can itself have children is in the IDEAL case roughly 37 days. Ideal means, from what I get, around 32/33 degree Celsius. If it gets colder, or too dry, then the process takes longer. One paper stated that at 18 degree Celsius it can take up to 6 months. In the winter, we keep our houses at about 20-21 degrees Fahrenheit. So it will not take six months, but I think four is hopeful and five perhabs realistic.