Single adult female on couch, v. sluggish

(1 post)
  1. researchkeepsmecalm

newbite

Posted 6 years ago
    Fri Feb 8 2013 14:24:53
    #

Login to Send PM

We live in a medium-large apartment building in a mid-sized New England town. Wednesday afternoon my husband, who works at home, found a slow-moving insect on the sofa (he tried to get it on to a piece of paper, it wouldn't move). He looked it up, thought it was a BB, and was able to find it again on the side of the sofa and kill it. It's an exact match for an adult female (I'm not a professional but I do nature education, love invertebrates and have studied them) and when he squished it, it left black stains on the tissue so I assume it must have fed (probably on him, although he didn't react). We checked the sofa carefully as well as our bed and the guestroom futon--no visible signs. We have not traveled recently but had an overnight visitor this past weekend.

We informed the management & gave them the dead bug. The maintenance guy, who is very nice and has had some BB training, came to inspect and checked the sofa and beds carefully too, also not finding anything else. This morning we got a prep sheet from Modern Pest Services, who are supposed to come some time next week. I asked the maintenance guy whether we would get an inspection before the treatment, and if the neighboring apartments were being checked and he said no, "we treat on a case-by-case basis," and that there had been one previous infestation in the building but on a different floor and it had been successfully treated. He said our neighbors were "very meticulous" and would have reported anything, and said he thought it was probably brought in by our guest.