Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Reader questions (do not fit into other categories)

Shoes by the bed at night?

(10 posts)
  1. rjp

newbite

Posted 6 years ago
    Thu Oct 4 2012 19:59:44
    #

Login to Send PM

I can't sleep through the night without getting up at least once to use the bathroom, usually twice. As I walk from the bed to the bathroom, I don't want to pick up bugs or eggs on my socks from the floor and then transfer them back into my bed. I keep a pair of shoes (flip flops, actually) by the bed for this purpose but am worried that a bug could lay an egg on it.... I realize the odds are next to impossible but it concerns me. I don't want to contaminate my protected, isolated bed.

Thanks

2. theyareoutthere

oldtimer

Posted 6 years ago
    Thu Oct 4 2012 20:07:24
    #

Login to Send PM

Do you have infestation now? What about putting the flipflops in a ziploc when not in use?

I'm not an expert.

They
    Are
    Out
    There
    = TAOT
  3. rjp

newbite

Posted 6 years ago
    Thu Oct 4 2012 20:22:51
    #

Login to Send PM

I can't confirm an infestation. Friend with bed bugs infestation visited 6 weeks ago and I'm worried he brought them in. I didn't know he had them in his house till after he left my house.

I have climb ups and a passive monitor (the black plastic and corrugated cardboard thing with the white border) but no bugs yet in them after a week - just bite marks in areas of 3 in a row that don't itch but they really hurt. I have taken the bed and boxsprings apart 4 times and found nothing, but the bites are making me suspicious. I have carpet beetles for sure, but with all of the steaming and vacuming I am doing for those, they are disappearing. I have a jeweler's loupe and confirmed they are carpet beetles for sure.

I like the idea of shoes in a bag. Thanks

4. theyareoutthere

oldtimer

Posted 6 years ago
    Thu Oct 4 2012 20:28:21
    #

Login to Send PM