(5 posts)
  1. Bradwantsnobugs

newbite

Posted 9 years ago
    Sat Apr 24 2010 15:17:23
    #

Login to Send PM

Hey everybody,

I've been looking all over the internet and this seems to be a good place to start.

I'm a college student living in a 100 year old house. I've lived here for 7 months without incident. Recently I've become suspicious of bed bugs.

I woke up one morning with three bites on my body. One on the back of each knee, and one on the back of my elbow. These bites were isolated, single bites, itched and went away in a day or two. I went a couple days without incident. Then while at work, I noticed a couple bumps on the back of my other elbow, but they did not itch. So in total, I've only found 5 bites/bumps on in the last couple weeks, one on the back of each one of my arm/leg joints.

That wasn't enough for me to immediately think it was beg bugs, however, this afternoon I was sitting in bed watching TV when I noticed a small bug on my pillow. I captured it and put it in a sealed glass to examine. Comparing to pictures on the internet, it looks an awful lot like a bed bug, but I can't be 100% sure on that as it does look a little different.

After discovering the bug and doing a little research, I tore my bed and room apart looking for more signs. I found nothing on the matress or box spring, no more bugs, carcasses or black specs. I'm still very cautious as the house is 100 years old and the bugs could be hiding between the floor boards, in the walls, in pretty much every inch of the house.

I called my girlfriend, who sleeps in the bed with me. She hasn't had any itchy bites but once I mentioned it to her she said she had two, non-itching bumps on her foot, but that could be anything. My other roommate who lives accross the living room has no signs whatsoever.