Please help a newbie! Shoes, sleeping in apartment, isolation

(9 posts)
  1. jhuang47

newbite

Posted 10 years ago
    Thu Jun 11 2009 9:55:09
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi, everyone! I'm Jackie -- a newbie here (unfortunately, haha).

I moved from my old dorm (I'm a college student) into an apartment at the end of May. I got the bed and all my belongings in then, and then I went home (to CA) for about ten days to visit friends and family. When I got back, I got some more furniture and settled in.. and then right when I finally finished unpacking everything I started getting bitten. I had my first treatment (out of 3) yesterday, and the PCO said that he couldn't find any in the apartment (thankfully!)

So here are my questions --
    1. SHOES. I have well over 20 pairs of heels (leather, suede, espadrilles, with crystals, etc..).. what do I do with them?! I'm not sure they're infected (they were in the closet next to the bedroom, and I believe the bedbugs were concentrated in the bed itself) but I don't want to take any chances. PCO suggested dry cleaning, dryer (eek -- I'm scared my shoes will melt!), or freezing for 3 days (but that doesn't seem to be too effective from FAQs). Will rubbing alcohol work? Failing that, how about a steamer?

2. I read in the FAQs that I'm supposed to sleep in my apartment to "bait" the bugs (ugh).. I asked the PCO about this and they recommended not putting my new mattress in yet. I don't want to buy an air mattress (the money I've spent so far is ridiculous!) so would it work if I just spent a couple hours every night in the apartment before going somewhere else to sleep?

3. When I do bring in my new mattress, how do I isolate/protect it? From what I understand, I put Vaseline on the legs and then tape surrounding it..? I was a little confused here.