phantom = pronto = hot shot

(13 posts)
  1. nycfighter

newbite

Posted 8 years ago
    Wed Dec 7 2011 3:26:47
    #

Login to Send PM

everyone seems to like phantom spray as a killer of bugs and eggs, and some people seem to feel it has residual effect (which i would assume means it is NOT a repellent)

the product "pronto" has the same active ingredients

and so does the "hot shot" bed bug & flea spray in the purple aerosol can (not the fogger!)

but people talk about hot shot like it's useless, and even harmful

i'm just wondering if there is some sort of consensus that phantom is superlative to the other two, even though they all have the exact same active ingredients based on their labels?

2. theyareoutthere

oldtimer

Posted 8 years ago
    Wed Dec 7 2011 3:45:28
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi, NYCfirefighter:

I don't know...at all...I don't think Phantom kills eggs from what I've read here. It is also a slow killer (10 days+)...again..from what I've read here...I'm a newbie.

Saw your Amazon purchase on another thread. Looks like it was from David Cain's optimization paper

Good luck!

They
    Are
    Out
    There
    = TAOT
  3. cilecto

oldtimer

Posted 8 years ago
    Wed Dec 7 2011 13:47:41
    #

Login to Send PM

Did you mean Phantom or were you thinking of BedLam?

Phantom's (from BASF) active (.5%) is Chlorphenapyr [4-bromo-2-
    (chlorophenyl)-1-(ethoxymethyl)-5-(trifluoromethyl)-1H-pyrrole-3-
    carbonitrile]. Phantom's "claim to fame" is that it's hard for insects to detect (and avoid), hence the name and by necessity, slower acting.

Phantom's actives are not the same as Pronto's and Hot Shot's.

BedLam's actives (as well as Pronto Plus', SprayWay-GoodNight and HotShot Aerosol, but not pump spray) are:
    .~4% 3-phenoxybenzyl-(1RS, 3RS, 1RS, 3SR)-2, 2-dimethyl-3-
    (2-methylprop-1-enyl) cyclopropanecarboxylate
    ~1.6% *N-Octyl bicycloheptene dicarboximide (aka "MGK®
    264, Insecticide Synergist")