Login to Send PM

2. loubugs

old timer

Posted 3 years ago
    Fri Aug 21 2015 5:58:35
    #

Login to Send PM

There's no resistance to a louse comb.

Professional entomologist/arachnologist. I consult on all matters dealing with insects and arachnids, including those of natural history and biology to pest management and forensic entomology investigations.
  3. robinsmom

oldtimer

Posted 3 years ago
    Fri Aug 21 2015 6:12:00
    #

Login to Send PM

Lou: why can't a mechanical killer be used on lice? Something that breaks down their exoskeletons, in the manner of de, but in a way that's safe for humans?

I'm not an expert just a dumb struggling bed bugger like every body else.
  4. misery

Posted 3 years ago
    Fri Aug 21 2015 8:11:10
    #

Login to Send PM

I have a child who loves to share (jackets, hats, barrettes) and has super long hair. I'm sure you all see where this is going...... she has had lice a couple of times and she is violently allergic (hospital trip allergic) to the lice medication. I could never use it. That being said, hot wash and dry of everything soft she touched, a lice comb, and a small bit of olive oil (to make combing easier and smoother, it pulls less on the hair that way) were all I ever needed. Never had to treat twice. Being ridiculously thorough and patient (it took around 2 hours to do her head) are keys to this. I feel there is an unnecessary amount of chemical options programmed into our brains for use against nature and other things. I'm not a crazy hippy, I just don't use chemicals unless I need to. Lol. Like against BBs!

Not a pro here. Call me Jon Snow...... for I know nothing, except what I've experienced.
  5. ozbugz

newbite

Posted 3 years ago
    Fri Aug 21 2015 8:20:43
    #

Login to Send PM

We used to use cheap hair conditioner on dry hair, and a metal nit comb. You have to do this every other day for two weeks but it works, is cheap and is better than chemicals on kids' heads.

6. skylarmarie