(7 posts)
  1. Worriedmummy

newbite

Posted 4 years ago
    Tue Dec 23 2014 10:23:22
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi everyone!

My story started 1 week ago I woke up with a few little red spots on my hand thought nothing of it! Two days later another 8/10 appeared again on my hand and a few of them we're in a line of 3! So after much googling bed bugs kept coming up! I checked the sheets mattress and so on and what do i find LOADS of little/medium black dots and marks 😥 so I studied the sheets one night and saw bug tiny light brown bug I don't know of this was a bed bug or not but I phoned environmental health who sent someone round today. He asked if I had gotten any more bites since last week which I haven't! and no one else has. He checked the bed the mattress the seams the sheets. Said the markings we're "too black" got a special light out carried on searching and pointed out the black spots we're only on the bedding/sheets not on the mattress or box? And he said the bug could of been just a normal mite/bug? He didn't actually search inside the box spring and I'm worries there in there but he said there would be evidence on the outside if they we're?

He asked if my dog slept on the bed and I said yes there and that's where the majority and black specks we're so his conclusion fleas! Flea dirt? My dog has got fleas and we're currently treating her I saw a flea jump on me the other day! But my bites are NOT flea bites?

Do you think I'm over reacting or do you think could still be bed bugs? I'm a mess!

2. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 4 years ago
    Tue Dec 23 2014 10:33:28
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

Aside from the "special light" it sounds logical that the issue might be fleas and not bedbugs as the faecal traces would be on the frame of the bed rather than on the sheets.

If you can take and post a clear in focus image of the marks it would help confirm the ID.