Non expert pest control used methyl bromide cans in our home. Help pls

(5 posts)
  1. Urgent_help_pls

newbite

Posted 9 months ago
    Sat Oct 27 2018 2:03:52
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi! We were not aware until after application regd the dangers of methyl bromide gas. The pest control worker has opened and left 3 full cans of methyl bromide fumigant in our sealed home.

He advised us to only enter after 24 hours. How do we take precautions and proceed?

2. keephopealive

Posted 9 months ago
    Sat Oct 27 2018 5:19:15
    #

Login to Send PM

I'm not an expert but I always thought that was what they used to fumigate pallets in industrial environments and was banned for use indoors?

Until you have some confirmation from a knowledgeable professional I would personally not enter the property as apparently the gas is colorless and odorless and probably not something you want exposure to; its possible that it has been used correctly but I would always err on the side of caution with this sort of thing; much better safe than sorry.

I hope you get some info soon.

3. keephopealive

Posted 9 months ago
    Sat Oct 27 2018 5:28:57
    #

Login to Send PM

Ah, just saw the "non expert" part of the thread title; if I were in your position, I would definitely not enter the property until you've consulted a professional.

4. bugged-cdn

Posted 9 months ago
    Sat Oct 27 2018 18:20:38
    #

Login to Send PM

It's banned for indoor use in the US and many other countries.

5. loubugs

old timer

Posted 9 months ago
    Sat Oct 27 2018 19:28:16
    #

Login to Send PM

Where do you live? That seems like a strange application in the U.S. at the present time. The "professional" shouldn't be doing that type of application. It has some uses: "quarantine and pre-shipment" and for certain agriculture applications under a "critical use exemption" loophole or an emergency exemption.