new to the site...excited to have some info

(3 posts)
  1. kears

newbite

Posted 9 years ago
    Mon Apr 26 2010 9:25:44
    #

Login to Send PM

I just discovered your site...very informative. I've been fighting bb's for 10 months. We've had great success, but of course, there are those setbacks. After storing our boys' wooden bunk bed set in the garage for the entire winter...(we live in Windsor, On where temps generally remain below freezing every night in the winter)...we brought the beds back in. Within 3 days, my older son was getting bites. We had been bite-free since the fall, but the bunk bed somehow harboured some survivors. We are keeping it from getting out of control, but we are worried that we will not eradicate them for good. After a long fight and 3 visits from a professional exterminator....we're trying to stay hopeful.

Last night we put a perimiter of sticky two-sided carpet tape on both of the boys' mattresses. They slept in the middle of the mattress (away from the sticky boarder) inside sleeping bags. This morning we found nothing on the mattresses or tape. A good sign!

2. KillerQueen

oldtimer

Posted 9 years ago
    Mon Apr 26 2010 11:27:13
    #

Login to Send PM

Kears,

Welcome to the site .. Sorry you're here. Other then the bite there is no other evidence of bed bugs?
    If the "bites" are from bed bugs .. they are more likely to be in the wood of the beds and may never cross the tape you have out, not to mention the tape usually raises up off the surface of the bed and a bug can crawl under the tape line.

Although anything is possible I would bet the bugs did die off in the winter months.
    I have kept bugs inside my truck with temperature changes going from 70 degrees to 30 degrees almost daily (meaning day and night changes) and have not found adult bugs living more than 1 month.