New to the forum

(3 posts)
  1. MaryJaneDoe

newbite

Posted 2 months ago
    Sat Jan 12 2019 16:58:23
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi, I'm new to the forum and just trying to learn the best ways to cope and fight these bugs. I just found out my couch was infested a few days ago and I've been so stressed as I'm sure most of you are/were. It has been very hard for me to sleep as I already suffer from anxiety and a myriad of both physical and mental health issues. I have been doing all the research I can and have been applying diatomaceous earth and cleaning by hand any bugs I can find and killing them or capturing them on duct tape every day since I found out. I feel like I've done a pretty good job of getting rid of as many as I could though I know there's probably more hiding. I am an artist and have little piles of clutter everywhere from art projects and so will have to literally go through everything with a fine toothed comb as well as throw out some of my furniture. I feel like I'm ready to tackle that and as soon as I notified my apartment they sent a PCO the same day and their plan is to treat with steam as well as pesticides. They also plan on applying a dust to the baseboard heating as it is a really easy place for them to hide. I usually sleep on my couch so luckily my bed was actually not infested or at least not upon visual inspection so that's a plus. My concern is that I know the apartment has had problems with bedbugs for a while now because they had signs in the lobby of the apartment explaining how to identify bedbugs and that was a year or two ago that they has them displayed. I am concerned about the fact that I know they aren't going through inspecting the other apartments for bed bugs and if they don't I know they could be a recurring problem. Has anyone used diatomaceous earth to prevent re-infestation? Should I buy my own steam cleaner? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. SalsaVince

Posted 2 months ago
    Sat Jan 12 2019 17:53:39
    #