Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Reader questions (do not fit into other categories)

New neighbor's bedbugs spreading

(2 posts)
  1. jks13

newbite

Posted 1 year ago
    Sat Jun 16 2018 21:27:23
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi all,

I live in a small 6 unit apartment building with 3 floors (2 units on each floor separated by a small hallway). I am on the second floor and the longest residing resident of the building. I have been here for 6 years. Within the past month, new tenants have moved in to both the unit above and below me. Never in my life have I had an issue with bedbugs, nor at this residence by any means.

Just over a week ago, I was standing at my bathroom sink/vanity getting ready for work (approximately 8:30AM), when I saw a small bug crawling on the wall down behind the toilet. When I got closer to examine it, much to my absolute disbelief it appeared to be a bedbug. I am not an expert, but I am pretty informed on bed bugs, as my sister lived in NYC for close to a decade. She had herself a few scares and also once a small contained infestation. I know what they look like, the general signs etc. and have never in my time here experienced anything that would cause me to suspect them. So in a panicked state of denial, I flushed it.

All day long I angsted over that bug - second guessing myself, was it really a bedbug, how could that be possible?, etc... Also completely pissed at myself for flushing it. Well lo and behold the very next morning, same time and place, I found another crawling on the wall up from behind my sink. Now I was sure of what I was dealing with and also thanks to the research I did on this forum, pretty damn confident they were not coming from my place.