Need advice on small infestation

(3 posts)
  1. romy90

newbite

Posted 2 months ago
    Tue Jun 18 2019 21:14:19
    #

Login to Send PM

Sorry for the incredibly long post but need some advice ! Woke up one morning with four bites on my back and immediately tore apart my bed. Found one bedbug on the back of my pillow. I had a bedbug cover on my mattress and pillows so assuming it has nowhere to hide that’s why it was there.

I have some experience with bedbugs about 5 years back in my old apartment. Thankfully I was already moving out the next month and it was a very small infestation (only ever day one bug) so just tossed all my old furniture (didn’t have that much) washed and dried everything exterminator came to spray and moved on. Didn’t have any issues after that.

After finding the bedbug I Immediately bagged up all my bedding and any clothes that were out in my room and took it to the laundromat washed and dried on high heat. Inspected my bed frame and surrounding area and saw nothing else. Called an exterminator and that same day someone came down and they did a canine inspection. They did not find any live bedbugs or eggs but the dog did pick up a scent from my bed frame and they found a small amount of droppings on it. They didn’t pick up a scent anywhere else. (I live in a duplex apartment with one other roommate who has not had any bites)

After the exterminator left I vacuumed and steamed my bed frame, carefully took it apart and bagged it in my bedroom and took it outside. Then vacuumed my whole room and especially next to my bed to be safe. I also bought a new bedbug cover and replaced my old one as I noticed my cat scratched a couple of holes in the old one. I installed the interceptors on my couch and an armchair I have in my room.