Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Introductions

Moving soon, Possible false positive? Next steps? Looking for some advice...

(1 post)
  1. RNinNYC

Posted 4 years ago
    Fri Feb 20 2015 16:13:37
    #

Login to Send PM

Hey all-
    Earlier this week, I posted the short version of my story and I'll try to be succinct:
    My husband came home from a trip covered in some sort of bug bites about 36 hours post-return. He might have had a few prior that didn't click as connected, but by the time we realized, his suitcase had been sitting in our living room for about a day and a half. He did all of the things that you aren't supposed to do on this trip- bag on the bed, not checking the room, etc. Our assumption is that whatever the bites were from probably came from that trip, but I am a teacher and we both live a very NYC-centric life with public transportation and lot of social outings, so who knows.

I alerted our building to our fears of bedbugs due to the bites on his face, hands, arms, and ankles, so they sent a dog to check out the apartment. They are connected to the PCO that ultimately ended up treating us and my gut at that point told me to get a second opinion (I didn't listen to my gut). The dog and his trainer checked out the perimeter of our 1 bedroom apartment in approximately 10 minutes. The dog sat down to alert on both sides of our bed and in our living room next to our desk/tall chairs where my huge down jacket was hung up. We did not know to ask for a visual confirmation or to ask for anything more in-depth. There's always the possibility that we had a false positive, but we don't know.