Looking For Treatment Protocol in Cincinnati

(2 posts)
  1. bugalarmed

newbite

Posted 9 years ago
    Tue Oct 5 2010 0:12:28
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi! I'm a newbie and trying not to freak out (too much). I got bed bug bites at a hotel on 9/25 and took all precautions to try not to bring them home, but got suspicious. On Friday my pest control company did an inspection and found no real signs of infestation (no feces, no blood, no shells, no visible bugs) until suddenly a bed bug crawled up the side of the mattress. I am hopeful I am catching this early and can get it under control.

I have received two different protocols/bids and quite frankly am confused on which is the best approach.

Terminix recommends only treating the bedroom. They will vacuum and treat the mattress, box springs, bed frames, headboard and surrounding furniture/fixtures with RapidFreeze or a steam machine. They will also put down residual. Chemicals used include Bedlam, Gentrol Aerosal and Phantom. They inspect after 5 days and will re-treat if they find continued activity. They will then re-inspect in 30 days, and again re-treat if deemed necessary. The warranty is for 30 days and is extended to 90 days if you use mattress encasements.

Orkin does a conventional method primarily focused on chemical treatment. They recommend treating the whole house and will treat 2 times (every 2 weeks). Products used include a growth regulator, Sterifab, Onslaught, Bedlam, Gentrol, Exciter and Tempo Dust. The warranty is 30 days.

Is steam/heat treatment a plus? Should I get the whole house treated versus only the bedroom especially given there are no obvious signs of infestation? I really want to do this right so I don't have to do it again.

Thanks for any help or advice!

2. WGarrow

Posted 9 years ago
    Tue Oct 5 2010 0:32:01
    #

Login to Send PM