Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Tales of Bed Bug Woe

Is it possible to protect a single room?

(5 posts)
  1. MiseryLovesMe

newbite

Posted 2 years ago
    Thu Jun 22 2017 21:55:49
    #

Login to Send PM

I've posted before, but I live in a house with two floors and a basement. My family - consisting of me and my grandmothers - live on the bottom floor. There are three bedrooms down here, and I have had run-ins with bed bugs in each. I also previously lived upstairs on the 2nd floor, where the bites first began, so I can confidently say that - after dealing with this off and on for a year and a half - we probably have a pretty sizeable infestation.

My grandmothers are 60 and 81, and they have made it very clear that they don't see it as an issue, considering they don't see the bugs and likely don't react to bites. To them, the bed bugs don't exist. And considering I'm a college student and my family overall is pretty much struggling in general, there is literally no chance for an exterminator being hired. 0%.

I react to the bites pretty much instantly and I've been losing sleep because the bites have gotten frequent. I plan on leaving the house - with proper preparation - but I want to wait until the end of Summer, at least. Is there any way to keep them from at bay in my room, at least? Just for 2 months, until I'm ready to go?

2. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 2 years ago
    Fri Jun 23 2017 5:18:45
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

In such situations the only long term solution is to fix the source. In your case the first step of that is to show everyone that there is an issue and that it needs to be addressed. Without this initial acknowledgement your task is akin to washing a kitchen floor when people don't take their muddy boots off when they come in. The best you can achieve is mitigating the impact down to a weekly or bi-weekly cleaning regime, this is simply not sustainable due to task fatigue.