ID please [a: non-parasitic mites]

(22 posts)
  1. iamscared

Posted 3 years ago
    Mon Nov 14 2016 1:02:46
    #

Login to Send PM

Hello

I came across this three times in the last two weeks. It runs fairly quickly and very small. I am currently battling (psychologicaly) psocids and occasional minute brown beetle.

http://imgur.com/86Gh97N
    http://imgur.com/Cwb3fot
    http://imgur.com/vsCz9W5

Please ID and provide any information possible. Many thanks.

2. Nobugsonme

your host

Posted 3 years ago
    Mon Nov 14 2016 2:22:40
    #

Login to Send PM

I think those are mites but I'm not an expert so please wait for Lou to confirm and tell you if they could be parasitic mites.

In the meantime, have you had any issues with birds nesting in or on the home or with rodents?

I started and run the site but am "not an expert."
  3. iamscared

Posted 3 years ago
    Mon Nov 14 2016 2:55:12
    #

Login to Send PM

Thanks Nobugsonme. I am really freaked out now.

It's a newly converted office building (100s of flats) so I wouldn't know if there were birds before but there's nothing I could find. It's a small 1 bed flat so I'd know if there was rodent or bird issue..

If it.helps 2 of the 3 of them were found in the bathroom. The one today was in the wash basin

I'm really distressed by the years of having some sort of issue with insects I don't know what I can possibly do beyond what I already do - not sitting on buses/tubes, not going to cinemas etc.

4. loubugs

old timer

Posted 3 years ago
    Mon Nov 14 2016 3:18:39
    #

Login to Send PM

It's hard to see the mites -- they're a bit cloudy, but they don't look like the typical ones that are parasitic on rodents and birds. They are just present and not biting?

Professional entomologist/arachnologist. I consult on all matters dealing with insects and arachnids, including those of natural history and biology to pest management and forensic entomology investigations.
  5. iamscared

Posted 3 years ago