(6 posts)
  1. lilypad73

newbite

Posted 9 years ago
    Thu Jul 8 2010 0:17:11
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi there:

I'm a newbie to this site and this is my first post. It's sad that it has to be about bedbugs.

Last week, I woke up with a patch of itchy red welts all over my arms. At first, I thought they *could* be mosquito bites, but I've never been bitten in clusters before. As the day progressed, I started to doubt the mosquito theory and it dawned on me that the bites happened overnight, and the thought crossed my mind: could it be bedbugs? I started to do some research and looked for pictures/explanations of bedbugs, what infestations look like, etc.

Well, the next morning, I was chewed up again, and I immediately searched the sheets for signs of activity. I found the fecal matter on my sheets, and one faint bloodstain. Later that night, I found one tiny bedbug on the boxspring of my mattress (and yes, it was a bedbug). My belief is that I carried the bedbugs from my workplace. I'm a teacher, and while I was cleaning my classroom for the summer, I was moving/carrying kids' clothing to the lost and found. It's the only real explanation I can come up with, given the timeline. You think that the worst thing you could get would be lice, but nooooo.....

Anyway, aside from the bedbugs, I have a further dilemma: I live in a somewhat remote area and the nearest PCO would be at least 500 km away (over 300 miles) and aside from cost, distance makes professional extermination prohibitive and DIY necessary. I'm anxious about this because most of the sites say to hire a PCO and it just isn't possible where I live. So, I'm a little freaked out and am hoping that I can do this on my own (the silver lining is that I am on holiday and I do have the time to work on this). I have ordered an encasement, made my bed an island (all the posts are in bowls of soapy water, and I've wrapped the metal headboard in plastic wrap coated with petroleum jelly.