I have bedbugs AND fleas.

(5 posts)
  1. tweakerangel

newbite

Posted 2 weeks ago
    Fri Feb 8 2019 12:29:13
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi all... I'm a NYC college student living in an apartment in Brooklyn. I first found out I had bedbugs around mid-December. Since then we've been treated 3x at 2 week intervals with Bedlam Plus by a (not so great) PCO chosen by our landlord. Have been taking all the necessary precautions prescribed by all the great folks on this site. Myself and my 2 roommates (who have not been in the apt since before the first treatment) were all non-reactors, but last week I got my first "bite" on my hip - not itchy but distinct and now turning into a purple scar. The last treatment was nearly a month ago. I know skin reaction is not a positive ID, but also found fecal stains on my wooden bed frame that I believe to be new.

Different PCO returns from same company returns today and is very, very rude to me, which in itself was demoralizing. I asked him about the HUGE cracks that are in my baseboards and wooden floors and he told me that *I* brought the bedbugs in myself, and that bedbugs would not live in cracks. He then proceeded to literally yell that I had somehow failed to follow their (extremely minimal) instructions, even though I have not.

Then he goes to roommate's room (which has been unoccupied since this process began) and finds dead fleas on the window sill. He says they can't treat for bedbugs today because we also have fleas and a separate treatment for them will be necessary (which must be approved by my building mgmt). I looked up Bedlam Plus and saw it also kills fleas, but they will not treat for both at the same time. (Note: we have no pets, but I know you can still get fleas). I'm so confused and depressed. How did the PCO not notice the fleas during the first THREE treatments?