(20 posts)
  1. altocleff

newbite

Posted 2 years ago
    Mon Feb 20 2017 2:04:40
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,
    I am new to all of this and only found my first bug last night. An exterminator has confirmed that it is a bed bug. I have used interceptors to keep them from climbing the bed frame.
    -
    However, I have an electric blanket on my bed for my cat who sleeps with me. I am worried they will climb the electrical cord. Does anyone have any way to make a barrier on the cord that they cannot climb? My cat gets cold and meows all night if I don't have the heater for her.

2. mp7ski

Posted 2 years ago
    Mon Feb 20 2017 2:53:10
    #

Login to Send PM

There's a few things you could do that others have used in your situation. I would use all three of these at once.

A very smooth surface tape.
    Double sided sticky tape.
    Vaseline.

I'd put all three in a row on the cord where it's suspended in the air between the floor and the bed. You'd have to replace the double sided tape often, and wipe clean and replace the vaseline every night but you'd be assured that they couldn't really get up using the cord.

I am not an expert, any advice I give should be considered as amateur advice and not taken as fact. I mean well with all my posts and try to give back. If you plan on using any of my advice, I suggest doing research into said advice to make sure it is in your best interest.
    Study on Thermal Death Points(pages 18-29 of pdf) : http://www.propanecouncil.org/uploadedFiles/Council/Research_and_Development/REP_12221%20Efficacy%20of%20Heat%20on%20Bed%20Bugs.pdf
    Study on Cimexa: http://www.pctonline.com/article/pct0814-silica-gel-research-bed-bugs/
  3. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 2 years ago
    Mon Feb 20 2017 10:00:15
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

Only a smooth tape would work.

Sticky tape does not for this reason:

https://youtu.be/LIDnn34xMNg