Hitchhiking bugs to dorm

(6 posts)
  1. collegebugs

newbite

Posted 5 years ago
    Sun Aug 17 2014 1:35:56
    #

Login to Send PM

My boyfriend's apartment has had bed bugs for over a year(He says after a trip to Puerto Rico to visit his sister the apt became infested). His grandfather paid to have an exterminator come, and they were given a 6 month bed bug free guarantee. I never got bit or saw any bugs when we first started dating. A few months ago after the exterminator stopped coming I started getting bit and the cat would find them crawling up the walls. They weren't able to afford another 6 month round of treatment.

I'm a college student and my only living arrangement option for this summer was to stay with my boyfriend. Most of my belongings were in storage, with the exception of a few bags. I'm really afraid of the bugs having hitch hiked from the apartment to my new dorm room.

My worst fear has come true and as I was unpacking a big bug came crawling out of a change purse I had placed on my desk. I know its a bed bug because I've been bitten by them at my boyfriend's and have had the unfortunate sighting multiple times.

I don't know what my next plan of action should entail. I've only seen one bug, and I've already unpacked everything I brought to the dorm room. Right after I began a huge load of laundry. I'm afraid to say anything to my RA out of fear of being blamed for a potential bed bug infestation of my dorm building.

Should I just be on the look out for any new bugs? I'm a very neat and organized person, other than frequent cleaning what can I do? Also after seeing the one bug I keep feeling like theres bugs all over me. I've had to take sleeping pills to fall asleep. Any tips for dealing with psychological bed bug trauma?

2. Distressed in NJ

Posted 5 years ago
    Sun Aug 17 2014 9:30:24
    #

Login to Send PM