Help! Brought BBs home from a hotel, trying to prevent the spread

(6 posts)
  1. HaveBugsWillTravel

newbite

Posted 4 years ago
    Thu May 21 2015 13:52:53
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi - I'm a newbie here. This is my first experience with bed bugs (or what I believe are bed bugs). We live in a detached, single family home and have never had any signs, bites, etc... I spent last weekend at a hotel where I did check the mattress but didn't see any bugs, castings, or feces stains. Every night since I've been home though, I have woken up with 6-12 new bites. My husband hasn't had any, but I've read that some people don't have a visible reaction anyway. I've looked at tons of photos and my bites definitely seem to be bed bugs...linear or closely grouped, light colored centers, not itchy or painful. So I'm assuming that I've brought some home with me from my trip.

We have inspected our mattress and box spring but don't see any signs of the bugs yet. I've just ordered a BBAlert Passive Monitor so that we can hopefully get some proof of bugs and call a professional while we are still in the early stages. However, in the meantime, is there any way I can prevent this from spreading to the rest of my home? I would love if we could at minimum keep this contained to our bedroom. I have three kids with endless clothes, toys, etc and I'm having anxiety thinking about having to sanitize every item in our home.

2. bbnewbie123

Posted 4 years ago
    Thu May 21 2015 15:03:30
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi there!

First of all, please remember that bites don't always necessarily equal bed bugs.

However, if you're concerned you have them and want to prevent the spread to the rest of your house, even if you do have them, it sounds like if there's anything you caught them early, which is good.

So.. even though you may not have them... If you want to be on the cautious side and for peace of mind, I would say:

~Keep sleeping in your bedroom (definitely don't go sleep in other rooms)