(5 posts)
  1. AmandaM

newbite

Posted 4 years ago
    Sun May 31 2015 20:50:48
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi All.

To be forthright- I am not to my knowledge experiencing a bedbug infestation, more than I am experiencing anxiety about acquiring and / or spreading bugs.

I work as a vet technician and pet sitter/house sitter, so I travel to lots of houses and sleep over at many clients homes. I think the idea that I could potentially bring something to a clients home really frightens me.

Ever since watching a documentary on Bedbugs many years ago, I became very fixated on checking my hotel rooms (matress, sheets, seams etc) and keeping my suitcase in bathroom etc. My friends / fiance thought I was crazy.

About a year ago we had a guest stay at our house and something bit her approx 10 times- I was mortified. She suggested bedbugs- but I really had never even considered it because I was so careful when traveling. After that I had the house sprayed by a pest control company. Recently I got a couple of bites, so I a bedbug sniffing dog come and sniff the house and furniture, as well as they did a visual inspection and saw nothing. I sprayed again.

Ive checked every nook and cranny I can think of, lifted box spring, no signs of stains on walls headboard etc. Pest control said could be a flea (I have dogs, who are on monthly prevention), a mite, a mosquito, etc.

But even after getting an all clear- I still think about these bugs non stop. Any small mark on my skin makes me obsess that it could be a bite. My friends say "it's summer, bugs are out right now, calm down." This morning I saw a tiny bug in my shower and it put me into a frenzy.

I saw a tiny bug on our bed recently- but when I tried to grab him he jumped away. Do bedbugs jump? (We also have some bugs ID'd by pest control as "springtails" which have been coming in our window- I think it was one of those but it happened so quick I couldn't be sure."