Found on pillow..please help identify!! [a: tick? Expert ID needed]

(12 posts)
  1. Rascal3

newbite

Posted 3 years ago
    Sat Jul 9 2016 21:47:21
    #

Login to Send PM

Please help to identify..my husband I found this bug on our bed and we are scared it may be a bed bug. It was found on our pillow and we searched everywhere around the bed, under the mattress, around the corners..and found no traces of bed bugs anywhere. We also have had NO bites at all.

Here is the picture:

Please help us identify this bug!!! Thank you!!!

2. misery

Posted 3 years ago
    Sat Jul 9 2016 23:51:54
    #

Login to Send PM

I am not a pro.

But.............. Google "dog tick" or something similar (I don't know the scientific name like a pro would) and compare your picture to that, see if you feel better!

Not a pro here. Call me Jon Snow...... for I know nothing, except what I've experienced.
  3. Nobugsonme

your host

Posted 3 years ago
    Sun Jul 10 2016 1:43:38
    #

Login to Send PM

I agree-- definitely not a bed bug and I also think it's a dog tick. Wait for an expert to confirm on that part.

I started and run the site but am "not an expert."
  4. GeekOnTheHill

Posted 3 years ago
    Sun Jul 10 2016 7:13:15
    #

Login to Send PM

Looks like a female American dog tick to me. But it could be a brown dog tick. It's definitely a tick and not a bed bug, however.

Ticks are also parasites and some can spread diseases, so they are not benign arachnids. If you actually have an infestation of these ticks (as opposed to just the one straggler), they'll have to be dealt with. If you have pets, they'll need to be looked at as well.

Richard

5. Rascal3

newbite

Posted 3 years ago
    Sun Jul 10 2016 9:20:09
    #

Login to Send PM

Oh my..we havent found any other ticks..and we don't have a dog..should we still call an exterminator just in case? Are there any precautions we can take now?? Thank you all for your responses by the way!

6. frightened

oldtimer