Found on couch/help IDing [a: suspected bat bug or swallow bug]

(70 posts)
  1. Nodame

newbite

Posted 7 years ago
    Sat Jun 2 2012 12:06:21
    #

Login to Send PM

I started off my first day of summer vacation by finding this bugger crawling on my couch. I've captured it and it stays in a ziploc baggie. It looks like a bedbug, but I don't know for sure. Here's the link:

Multiple Pics of Live Bug:
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v378/DigiExpert/Bugs/IMG_2178.jpg
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v378/DigiExpert/Bugs/IMG_2177.jpg

I don't really use my couch. It's usually covered with a sheet to keep the cats from being destructive. The cats use it all the time. I just use it to lean against when I eat dinner at the low coffee table on the floor. I had not recently traveled anywhere. I work in a school, but unless the bugs traveled from where my school bags are kept, nothing new was placed on the couch.

I started checking my bed area for signs. I cannot find any signs on the bed sheets, mattress, or box spring. I dried everything on the bed in the dryer though. This morning I woke up with a bite on the back of my right hip. It only itched when I first realized it was there, and it is red, but that's it. It still got me antsy so I stripped the bed again and checked. Found nothing.

Regardless, I've been working to clean both areas. I have found no signs of more live bugs. However, I found a dead bug in one of the storage bins under the bed. I've attached a photo. I also found a casing of some bug under the couch. There's also a photo of that.

Multiple Pics of 1 dead bug (from underbed bin): http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v378/DigiExpert/Bugs/IMG_2176.jpg
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v378/DigiExpert/Bugs/IMG_2175.jpg
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v378/DigiExpert/Bugs/IMG_2169.jpg

Pic of bug casing from couch:
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v378/DigiExpert/Bugs/IMG_2171.jpg