Found Bites, But No Bugs

(10 posts)
  1. Bitten_Kitten

newbite

Posted 7 years ago
    Tue Jul 10 2012 18:55:17
    #

Login to Send PM

I've never had bed bugs before, so I'm a total newbie here. Yesterday I woke up with a line of three small, red bites on my stomach that match the description of bed bug bites- I've heard about the whole "breakfast, lunch and dinner" pattern, so when I saw that there was a line of three, I immediately freaked. I called in sick to work and spent the day doing laundry, and brought my vacuum cleaner in for a long-overdue repair. I also picked up a spray bottle of stuff called EcoBugFree- the active ingredients are Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium Chloride and Potassium Sorbate.

Yesterday I washed all my bedding and some clothing, and sprayed the mattress and bed frame/headboard/etc. with the EcoBugFree. After awhile I also sprayed everything with isopropyl alcohol, on a friend's recommendation. I had hoped that that would do the trick, but this morning I woke up with more bites, also around my waist, but this time closer to my back. I also noticed three or four other similar marks in the same region of my body, but I'm not sure if they happened Sunday night or last night. I'm hoping that, if they are bed bug bites, that it's just one bug that might have stowed away on me (maybe at a party I went to Saturday night, or simply riding the subway), and that I'll be able to kill it before it multiplies.

***My BIGGEST CONCERN is my cat. If you have resolved a bed bug problem and are a cat owner, especially if your cat sleeps in your bed with you (mine does), please advise as much as you can. Also, I live in a studio apartment, so it's not possible to shut my cat out of the bedroom or anything like that.***