Found a rather effective unique anti-bite method [looking for input]

(14 posts)
  1. Intelligenery

newbite

Posted 9 years ago
    Mon Jul 12 2010 20:28:13
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi, I'm a 16 year old student in the city of London (which is having a rapid increase of bedbugs) who is trying her own experiment.

What I used:

A fan

What I did:

I slept in my room as I usually did, however keeping my body under a fan so it did not become hot. The fan was placed near my head/torso.

Result:
    Apart from isolating my bed, this is the next best thing I found to stop bedbugs biting was using a common household fan to stop bedbugs biting. This was mostly a success, I used to get bites everyday due to the infestation in my bedroom and sofa. Since using a fan on my body every night I've had no bites in two weeks.

However there were some setbacks, as bedbugs become hungry, they come out during the day and will bite anyone and anything (not just me for once) and they look for other areas or places to bite, meaning everyone should get a fan in the house. I also worry they may hibernate if they can't find me completely but it gives me a good nights sleep especially during summer. This is not a good idea for long term usage during winter because you may catch a cold or worse if you keep it on during sleep as your body is at it's most vulnerable.

I turned the fan off for two days to find that I was getting bitten again. I'm not exactly sure why but I think bedbugs were so hungry they did not even numb the spot they were going to bite before biting so I felt the bites on my legs.

Well, for the working part, how does it work? Well my own personal theory, your household fan makes your body cool, bedbugs are attracted to your body heat. And also, if the fan is eg: near your face, this distorts the flow of Co2, which makes it harder for the bedbugs to find you. If they can't find or sense you, they won't come out.