Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » General Topics

Expert ID, Please!!! (dead bug)

(8 posts)
  1. nervousness

Posted 7 years ago
    Wed Jan 4 2012 16:08:51
    #

Login to Send PM

I was about to finally set up our study room,which had been unoccupied since moving in about six months ago. (There was furniture in it, but we were never in there. ) While about to vacuum the crevices where the wall meets the carpet,I came upon a live carpet beetle larvae, several tubular casings, and a dead bug. I am alarmed at the dead specimen, since I don't know if it was an engorged bed bug, or some other type of beetle,but it does not appear to be carpet beetle larvae. Please advise. The specimen broke apart when I went to put it on tape; it appears to be about 7 mm long. Thank you.

2. iamscared

Posted 7 years ago
    Wed Jan 4 2012 16:49:30
    #

Login to Send PM

I am not an expert, and I am not sure what that is but from all those thousands of photos of bugs I've seen in the last months I can say it does NOT look like bed bugs.

I am sure some expert will soon post the correct information about this specimen.

3. nervousness

Posted 7 years ago
    Wed Jan 4 2012 16:57:14
    #

Login to Send PM

thanks for replying, iamscared. I guess I am freaked out since it looks similar to an engorged adult, and I can't use a dichotomous key or anything like that to identify, since the head is missing. nothing like alarms (false or otherwise) to throw one's whole day off.

4. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 7 years ago
    Wed Jan 4 2012 17:00:45
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

100% not bedbug related.

I think it's a pupae of some sort although I would defer to an entomologist.

David Cain
    Bed Bugs Limited

I am happy to answer questions in public but will not reply to message sent directly or via my company / social media. I am here to help everyone and not just one case at a time.