Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Detection / Identification of bed bugs

DIY monitors?

(32 posts)
  1. ITortureBugs4Revenge

Posted 5 years ago
    Wed Mar 12 2014 3:11:29
    #

Login to Send PM

I read a post on here a while back that mentioned how DIY monitors can be made by cutting out appropriately sized pieces of cardboard and sticking them on the bed with tape, and the cardboard which is corrugated on the inside provides a perfect harborage for bedbugs. Although the professional monitors are no doubt better the DIY method may work well enough so those with no money to spend can apply them with some success. Anyone else heard of this?

.....I am NOT an expert.....

Any advice i give here is based solely on my own personal experiences in dealing with bedbugs & other household vermin.
  2. Butterfly1972

Posted 5 years ago
    Wed Mar 12 2014 6:55:38
    #

Login to Send PM

Paul B. talks about using cardboard in this thread:

http://bedbugger.com/forum/topic/best-affordable-bedbug-monitors

I have passive monitors in my home, but if someone isn't able to buy the passive monitors, then this sounds like a suitable alternative.

If you try the cardboard, let us know how it works for you.

3. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 5 years ago
    Wed Mar 12 2014 7:53:33
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

While I cant deny I started with a similar idea I can assure you I did not stop there for very good reasons.

There is a good blog article about simplicity and design which I have linked below. Some of the old timers will have noticed the occasional reference to Zen in my posts, it is in part as an homage to the design principles outlined in it:

http://blogs.wsj.com/source/2011/09/25/zen-and-the-art-of-simplicity-at-work/

The shibumi here is to get all the essential criteria in the minimal number of steps because each of those small additions or design removals has a cumulative effective on the efficacy of the approach.