Despair

(11 posts)
  1. SleeplessInToronto

newbite

Posted 11 years ago
    Sun Dec 16 2007 16:58:43
    #

Login to Send PM

I'm a student living in Toronto, currently still living at home (I'm 20). I live in a 3-bedroom apartment with my mother and her husband, as well as 2 dogs and a cat.
    This setup is essentially a recipe for disaster when combined with bedbugs, but it gets much worse; my mother's husband doesn't give a damn about the situation (go figure), and my mother is unwilling to call an exterminator due to financial problems, not to mention the difficulty that comes along with the service because of our pets. In the previous apartment we lived in, we had the same problem, and had a professional exterminator visit us about 4-5 times, but the infestation persisted, and they have even followed us here. We took minimal precautions to ensure that they would not re-emerge in the new residence, and now I see what a mistake this was. My mother now spends money on Raid bug killer occasionally (the "Keeps Killing For Up To 2 Weeks kind), but I have come to realize that its effect rivals that of a kiss to the dead. A friend we have had a bedbug problem also, and apparently she and her husband packed all the furniture and everything up into bags and used a cyanide-based extermination method with the assistance of a professional, and are no longer having this problem. When I discussed this option with my mother, she stated that she "can't do so much work".
    I am psychologically and physically tired of this problem, and I am at a loss of what to do. I am convinced that the only way I can be free of this is when I move out on my own, and I have nightmares about moving into the new place and the dirty little blood-suckers appearing there also. This has been going on for far too long, and I feel completely powerless to fight it.