Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » General Topics

DE in bins with my stuff, reptiles, other questions.

(21 posts)
  1. kaycee

newbite

Posted 7 years ago
    Sat Dec 17 2011 2:37:36
    #

Login to Send PM

Hey everyone.

I have been dealing with bed bugs since August in my apartment. I am a student who is graduating, and I must move. We have has 4 PCO treatments, one of which was a heat treatment, and the damn things keep coming back. Apartment management is very poor, and the PCO they used has pretty much stopped talking to us. I don't even want to get into the leasing issues/treatment payment crap I have to deal with right now....

I am taking all the precautions I can to not bring bed bugs with me. I am moving in with my boyfriend of 8 years. This is our time to finally live together after all this time and I do not want bed bugs to ruin it like they've ruined my last college semester.

ANYWAYS, I think I made a mistake. I've been packing all my misc. items in large plastic bins so I can seal them for the ride home. The thing is...I decided to dust some DE in with my stuff...and after reading about the dangers of it, I'm afraid this was a bad idea. Once I get home, how would I go about removing the DE from my stuff? :\ I did use a 3M N95 mask while applying it, if that matters.

Also, the PCO my parents use gave us a can of Phantom and said I could spray it on my stuff....and also use Nuvan strips. I am thinking I will leave my bins outside or in our shed for a while after doing that and sealing them. I don't know if this is actually all that safe......but I don't know. If I tell my dad that people on the internet said it's not, he won't go for that.

Sigh. I'm starting to wonder if I should have just thrown all my stuff away. I'm not taking any furniture with me, though.

One more thing, I have a leopard gecko and I am wondering what the best way to treat her cage/cage accessories/whatnot before I load it up into my car.