Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Tools/ideas for fighting bed bugs

Cot or hammock as an alternative to the bed.

(92 posts)
  1. ITortureBugs4Revenge

Posted 5 years ago
    Mon Mar 17 2014 3:14:15
    #

Login to Send PM

I always wondered if when facing a bedbug issue if not using the bed at all and purchasing a cot, or even a hammock to sleep on instead would be a good alternative, as cots are very simple and lightweight, they can easily be inspected and sterilized on a daily basis, and the metal legs of a cot would make it difficult for bedbugs to access you while you sleep, provided you take the usual precautions of not letting the blanket touch the floor and not let anything contact the walls. I would think it would be a very good way to keep the little buggers from attacking you in your sleep if for whatever reason you can't get the infestation dealt with in a timely manner. Any thoughts from the pros on that?

.....I am NOT an expert.....

Any advice i give here is based solely on my own personal experiences in dealing with bedbugs & other household vermin.
  2. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 5 years ago
    Tue Mar 18 2014 12:38:23
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

I can see the logic path you are on and wanted to share this:

IMG_9982 by bedbugscouk, on Flickr

Not the newest of ideas and not one that caught on last time.

I appreciate the apparent logic in avoiding bites but this often comes at the cost of prolonging the infestation as bedbugs disperse in a hope of finding a different route to food or an alternate source of food.

We fleetingly played with the idea in the early days but soon reaslised the dispersal and 3 dimensional movements of bedbugs means its just never going to be viable and cost effective.

Hope that helps.

David Cain
    Bed Bugs Limited

3. theyareoutthere

oldtimer

Posted 5 years ago
    Tue Mar 18 2014 19:36:31
    #

Login to Send PM

I can't see the picture

They
    Are
    Out
    There
    = TAOT
  4. JustChecking

oldtimer