Cautiously Optimistic - 2 months in / 1 week no bites [now: 2 months later]

(10 posts)
  1. BurnItDown

newbite

Posted 3 years ago
    Mon Sep 7 2015 20:03:15
    #

Login to Send PM

It's been over a week since I've seen a bed bug or been bitten. I've been fighting the battle for over two months now. Made many mistakes along the way.

Wednesday I get my third PCO treatment. The first two were good, but I kept catching about one instar every four days. Assuming all goes well with this treatment, I'll continue in a maintenance phase: being cautious and practicing the basics (clothes in bags, regular hot wash/hot drying, vacuuming, bedding cleaned 2x/week, still using casements and interceptors, etc.)

I've read enough stories to know that by no means am I guaranteed to be out of the woods, but constant reductions in bed bug numbers is a positive sign as long as I remain vigilant. Thought I'd share some hope with those who are in the early phases of their bed bug war.

2. canteven

newbite

Posted 3 years ago
    Mon Sep 7 2015 21:17:18
    #

Login to Send PM

Thank oou. We just had our third treatment on Tuesday. We found 2 area of eggs which I vacuumed out very well, threw away, and washed out the vacuum with hot soapy water (canister vac). We saw 2 bugs in these area and killed them. In the past 4 or 5 days, we haven't seen any. My daughter said she saw and killed one, but I do not know for sure since she is 6. However, even just seeing 1 is a HUGE difference from where we were 4 and 2 weeks ago. I am optimistic we are nearing the end of the infestation, and then will be on the proactive side of keeping them out. I know we have a while to go and also aren't out of the woods, but am SO thankful to no be seeing them every time I change the sheets or even walk into the room at night.
    We are also being diligent with all you mentioned. School starts tomorrow for the kids and I am so nervous that they will spread them by mistake or we will get them back.