Blood Smears as Evidence?

(12 posts)
  1. bedbughomework

newbite

Posted 7 years ago
    Mon Jun 4 2012 19:46:48
    #

Login to Send PM

Can blood smears (the rusty colored ones pictured on David Cain's PDF) be considered as evidence of having bed bugs? We can never seem to find the black fecal matter but continue to have rusty colored blood smears on our sheets and pillow cases, along with bites.

2. brooklyn_bites

Posted 7 years ago
    Tue Jun 5 2012 8:31:47
    #

Login to Send PM

I'm not an expert, but I'd say no. Blood stains indicate external creatures are harboring in your belongings, but does not definitively say what kind of external creature (even if they look similar to David Cain's photos). If you are not finding fecal stains anywhere, consider that it could be some other type of creatures that are biting you.

An interesting thought I had last night... is there technology available to run DNA tests on blood stains of creatures? Might this help determine what one has? I'm sure it'd be otherworldly expensive, but I'm curious.

3. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 7 years ago
    Tue Jun 5 2012 12:19:00
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

No blood spots only confirm something needs looking at and not what it could be. I am preparing some images on the issue at present but they will not be ready for another week or so. I would suggest that you read the FAQ on monitoring and investigate more reliable options.

Hi brooklyn_bites,

For that kind of molecular test for specificity you would need to look at antibodies rather than DNA and it is just cost prohibitive. Even with the DNA tests they are dubious in terms of reliability and may not have the specificity needed to be of value and that's before you look at costs and turn around time.

David Cain
    Bed Bugs Limited

I am happy to answer questions in public but will not reply to message sent directly or via my company / social media. I am here to help everyone and not just one case at a time.