Bedbugs at hotel - should I leave?

(9 posts)
  1. picturegrl

newbite

Posted 2 weeks ago
    Wed Apr 4 2018 11:13:29
    #

Login to Send PM

I travel a lot for work (I'm a journalist) and often see bed bugs. Usually I change hotels. But today, I have work to do, and if I leave, I can't get my money refunded.

Should I sleep in my car? Should I just find another hotel? Should I somehow manage to sleep with them? Should I just walk around Walmart all night until it's time to leave this town?

I'm so discouraged and anxious. I was tired last night and didn't check for them. I just saw one on the comforter, so I already slept with them. I know they can't really hurt me, but as I see all of you discussing — the anxiety level is high. They're just ... creepy. And nasty. Somehow they feel different from fleas, etc.

Please help me keep my sanity and decide what to do. I need to concentrate on my work, but my skin is crawling.

Also, how do I keep from bringing them home with me?

2. BigDummy

oldtimer

Posted 2 weeks ago
    Wed Apr 4 2018 12:22:07
    #

Login to Send PM

Post an image so it can be IDed, most people mistake another insect for a bed bug.

Killer of bed bugs for Homeless Empowerment Program
  3. Mf1616

newbite

Posted 2 weeks ago
    Wed Apr 4 2018 12:22:39
    #

Login to Send PM

Ask for a different room. I think bed bugs is a valid excuse for them to accommodate. Just make sure to check the new room properly. If they refuse, tell them you’ll write a review on trip advisor or yelp (which, you should probably do anyways...to warn others).

As for the fact that you’ve already spent one night there... I would just be VERY careful about not taking any hitchhikers with you. Does the hotel have a laundry facility you can use? Maybe chuck your suitcase just in case...

For the record, I am NOT an expert.
    My advice/opinion comes from past experience(s) with bed bugs and what I have read on-line.
  4. BigDummy

oldtimer

Posted 2 weeks ago