Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Reader questions (do not fit into other categories)

Bed bugs in hair? Questions for experts!

(6 posts)
  1. OutOutDarnBugs

Posted 2 years ago
    Sun Aug 27 2017 10:10:26
    #

Login to Send PM

Dear Good People of the Forum,

Over the years, I've instructed basically everyone I've met on how to inspect, how to treat, and how to be aware of bed bugs. Earlier this week, a friend asked me some questions about bed bugs in hair. She's not worried she has bugs in her hair, she just wanted to be well-informed. Being an elementary school teacher, I'm an expert on lice, but I had to admit that I didn't know the answers to her questions. I offered to post them to the site to get expert opinions, and then pass the information on to her. She was worried that the questions would seem silly, but I assured her that the experts on this site would be more than helpful.

The questions seem mixed between bug behavior and bug ability, in my humble opinion. They have less to do with bugs living in your hair on a regular basis, and seem to be more about bugs just getting in it in the first place...

1. Can bugs climb up clothing and get into your hair? For example, if you are wearing a shirt or a jacket that happens to have a bug on it, and your hair is down and touching the cloth, are they likely (or is it possible at all?) for them to climb up the individual strands of your hair?

2. If your hair brushes a wall or structure that potentially has a bug on it, would they be able to transfer to your hair in that short contact moment? (She recognized that bugs would have to be on that exact spot in that exact moment, anyway, but was wondering about the ability to transfer if hair brushed against something.)