Bed Bugs 101 - What I did

(1 post)
  1. BurnItDown

newbite

Posted 4 years ago
    Sun Aug 9 2015 14:17:46
    #

Login to Send PM

These are the steps I took once I confirmed my bed bug infestation and got over my initial shock, panic, denial and research. To keep from feeling overwhelmed, it has helped me to break the “plan of attack” into steps. (NOTE: I am not a professional. Please read the FAQ's and do lots of research.)

Action 1: My shopping list for round one of bed bug treatment: 2 boxes of 20 heavy-duty black trash bags; 4 rolls of duct tape; one bag of Diatomaceous earth; 12 interceptors; 3 large, clear horizontal storage bags from a container store; 5 zip lock hanging garment bags; 20 2-gallon zippered plastic storage bags; 9 XXL zip lock storage bags; spray bottle; 91% alcohol; bed and pillow casements. This was just to get a handle on the bed bugs while I was cleaning clothes before the PCO could come in and treat.

Trash bags sealed with duct tape were for items going into storage. Horizontal storage bags were for daily use clothes. XXL storage bags were for bags that I’d be going into/out of frequently like laundry. I used clear bags.

Action 2: Bagged everything possible immediately. This was triage until I could go back through the bags and determine what would be tossed, what needed to be laundered, and what needed to be stored. Used sandwich bags to store sample bed bugs for proof with landlord and PCO.

Action 3: I used plastic sheeting and duct tape to seal up a coat closet until I could find the time to go through all the items in that closet. That seemed to work for me. Nothing got in or out until I could triage the closet.