Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Tools/ideas for fighting bed bugs

Becoming a PCO

(6 posts)
  1. bedbugsbugme

Posted 2 years ago
    Tue Aug 29 2017 17:42:31
    #

Login to Send PM

So I've been thinking. There is a horrible bed bug AND cockroach epidemic happening in my community. The nearest pest control place is asking 1k per house and there are over 50 homes affected (probably more now since this number was from last year). I have been on this forum learning about bed bugs and their habits, thanks to the experts here. I would like to lend a helping hand in our community and would ask them to purchase heat equipment and sprays/ dusts. How would I go to become certified? I know I need some sort of training to be able to purchase professional products correct? This is something I've been mulling over since no one knows what to do. So far their strategy is to hand anyone who asks a can of raid 😖

I'm not an expert. Just sharing what I learned from my experience.
  2. bed-bugscouk

oldtimer

Posted 2 years ago
    Wed Aug 30 2017 6:08:38
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi,

Just about every state has a different set of rules and regulations which are usually set by the agriculture department and environmental protection agencies.

While these are not massively onerous there is a lot of practical skills that are usually taught on the job and cant really be picked up from books because they are either not written down or they are specific to a local area (for example some parts of Birmingham in the UK the mice population will not consume grain). This is why most people training with a company for a few years and then start up on their own, I worked for a small pest control firm in London before starting my company thus avoiding having to learn the mistakes the hard way.