Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Tales of Bed Bug Woe

After three years and no bugs_ Theyre Back!!

(6 posts)
  1. rovianne

newbite

Posted 7 years ago
    Tue Jan 3 2012 4:52:05
    #

Login to Send PM

I cannot believe this is happening again! Almost three years ago I spotted a single bedbug in my condo in Chicago. I studied, learned everything I could, talked to the experts here including one call on the phone with Killerqueen who really talked me off the ledge. I will never forget what he said when I was freaking out despite having Climbups- matress covers- and every other thing I could think of to protect myself from my possible infestation. I had read that they could climb up the walls to the ceiling and then drop on to you from above if there was no other available route to your bed. KQ simply said, "Ok they're bugs, Not Navy Seals!!" It was one of the few times someone made me laugh during that initial panic phase.
    So anyway I had professional inspections stayed vigalent washed, vaccumed, checked myself for bites constantly, and crossed my fingers. I messed my back up pretty good with all the bagging and lifting and have struggled with chronic back problems ever since but gladly almost three years later never another bug or bite spotted. I left tons of my clothes and stuff in those ziploc bags even to this day. Partly due to never feeling out of the woods. I live in a large highrise and was told there was a unit that was infested on another floor so I figured Id better not let my guard down. At that time my condo mgmnt wasnt all that well versed and in my opinion was not handling the known infestation as well as they should have so I have always been cautious.