ABSOLUTELY A BED BUG - BUT NO BITES!

(21 posts)
  1. bambi

newbite

Posted 7 years ago
    Thu Jul 19 2012 17:28:22
    #

Login to Send PM

First of all, I am a biologist. That means it's pretty easy for me to positively ID some things. That doesn't mean that I'm not as creeped out as the next person.

Yesterday night, I was in my recliner, in my library, working at my computer, when I noticed a "watermelon seed" moving on my blouse. I captured it, popped it into alcohol. When I came to work this morning, I used a dichotomous key - alas, NOT a book louse - and then another one I got online. Not only is this positively and absolutely a bed bug, I can even tell you that it is an adult, and FEMALE.

Here's the punch line: I have NO bites. I don't think I've had an insect bite in more than a year.

I bought my current home last October. There has been absolutely no indication of bed bugs. Ants - plenty of them - but nothing more.

HERE'S THE QUESTION: is it possible that I carried a single female in yesterday, or shortly before, and that now she's dead? A friend advises me to make sure this is not the case before I call in help.

What do you think of the odds?

By the way, this site is just what I needed. I could be a quivering, neurotic blob of jelly by now, but the site has information, real people, normalization - and some really useful humor. Thanks to everybody.

2. rs1971

oldtimer

Posted 7 years ago
    Thu Jul 19 2012 17:36:07
    #

Login to Send PM

It's possible that you brought a single bed bug home with you. It's also possible (and probably more likely) that you or someone else in the home is being bitten but are non-reactors to the bites.

-rs1971

3. theyareoutthere

oldtimer

Posted 7 years ago
    Thu Jul 19 2012 18:08:13
    #

Login to Send PM

The PCO experts will probably be on tomorrow, but reading the FAQs can be a start. Maybe think about buying a passive monitor for the chair and the bed(s).

It can just be a stray.

They
    Are
    Out