Alcohol is a very flammable contact killer for bed bugs

January 11, 2016

Another person has set their apartment building on fire in response to bed bugs.  And this time, he was badly hurt. According to Man trying to destroy bedbugs sets apartment ablaze in the Detroit Free Press, on Sunday at 4:30 am, a man in Detroit’s St. Antoine Gardens apartment complex (near Wayne State University) doused […]

14 comments Read the full article →

Bed bug forums the focus of The Daily Dot

December 9, 2014

The Daily Dot has a new story about our bed bug forums by Anna Drezen, herself a Bedbugger Forum user who made some of the typical mistakes one makes when one suspects bed bugs: I really wish I’d found right away, because my instincts about how to address the situation were dead wrong. I […]

2 comments Read the full article →

Bed bugs in the subway update: Fox News talks to Louis Sorkin

August 6, 2014

Move over alligators in the sewers, we’re still talking about bed bugs in the subway! Here’s a follow-up to last night’s post about bed bugs being found in three NYC N train subway cars this week:

4 comments Read the full article →

New York Times story on how libraries and their patrons respond to bed bug risks

December 6, 2012

New York Times journalist Catherine Saint Louis has a new story today about bed bugs in libraries. The article describes ways various libraries in the US have responded to bed bug infestations or tried to prevent them, and how library patrons are themselves responding to the risk of bed bugs in libraries and library books. […]

9 comments Read the full article →

Now casting for “Bedbugs!!!” musical in New York City

August 11, 2012

This isn’t really bed bug-related, but we thought you might be interested anyway. According to Playbill, they’re now casting for Bedbugs!!! The Musical in New York City: BEDBUGS!!! A Sci-Fi Thriller Comedy Rock Musical. Description: Girl meets bug in this original comic musical in the vein of Rocky Horror and Little Shop with an 80s […]

Read the full article →

Bed bugs bite at the 78th Precinct in Brooklyn

June 1, 2012

It’s not the first time bed bugs have taken up residence in a New York City police precinct or lockup. Now the 78th Precinct in Brooklyn is “Bedbugged” according to the New York Post, which reports the facility serving Prospect Park and Park Slope is also normally used to test blood alcohol concentrations of DWI […]

2 comments Read the full article →

Can alcohol keep bed bugs from biting?

June 1, 2012

No, I don’t mean using rubbing alcohol as a contact kill spray. The question is: will getting a bit tipsy will have any effect on the bed bugs which are biting you? Ralph Narain, a PhD student at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, presented his research on the “Effects of various blood alcohol concentrations on bed […]

2 comments Read the full article →

Bedbugs, a novel, to be Bedbugs, a movie

April 17, 2012

Congratulations to Ben H. Winters! The movie rights to his creepy novel Bedbugs have been sold to Tango Pictures, and so it will soon be a creepy horror film too. As Deadline New York reports, the screenplay is to be written by Ti West (The Innkeepers). Cilecto reviewed the book for here.  You’ll recall that […]

7 comments Read the full article →

Edmonton dry cleaners refuse to treat bed bug-infested clothing

January 24, 2012

Ahhhh, the laundry problem. Image credit: Carlos Porto / People with bed bugs are often told that laundry can be washed/dried on hot, simply dried on hot, or dry cleaned.  The latter, however, is a can of worms carpet beetle larvae. The CBC reports that “many dry cleaners” in Edmonton won’t treat bed bug-infested […]

Read the full article →

Bed bugs found in books in New Westminster, BC public library

October 26, 2011

I know, I know: yet another bed-bugs-in-the-library story. But libraries are the new theaters, as far as bed bugs are concerned. This latest bed-bugs-in-the-library story is interesting: the bed bugs found in New Westminster’s public library were hanging out in multiple shelved books in two adjacent areas of the library. The Royal City Record reports, […]

3 comments Read the full article →

Libraries with bed bugs (Pace University is the latest)

October 11, 2011

Gothamist says it received a tip that the Pace University Library in lower Manhattan was closed yesterday for bed bug treatment. In Bedbugs Shut Down Pace University Library, Gothamist’s John Del Signore writes: A student who works in the Henry Birnbaum Library at Pace University tells us the library has been shut down so that it […]

2 comments Read the full article →

Bed bugs infest libraries in three cities: what can we learn from these cases?

September 30, 2011

The Mesa, Arizona Public Library and the Public Library in Norman, Oklahoma both became infested with bed bugs in the last ten days.  They recently troubled the Longmont, Colorado library. Are there any patterns here, and what can we learn from these cases? First, Mesa. reports, According to Mesa spokesman Steve Wright, bedbugs were […]

20 comments Read the full article →