Washing / Drying Clothes on Hot? Question

(13 posts)
  1. bugger09

Posted 4 years ago
    Sat Dec 12 2009 11:21:24
    #

Login to Send PM

Hello!

Could someone please answer my question. Is it necessary to wash and dry on "HOT" to eliminate bed bugs? I ask because hot dryer mode kills my wool clothes.

I recently ordered a pack-tite for preventative measures. Can a pack tite dry wool clothes (and eliminate possible eggs/bugs/etc) without destroying wool?

Thanks so much! You guys are so knowledgable!

2. thebedbugresource

old timer

Posted 4 years ago
    Sat Dec 12 2009 11:54:39
    #

Login to Send PM

I am NOT an expert in washing clothes. However, it is my understanding that wool only shrinks if you dry it when wet. If you put it into the dryer without washing it then it should be fine.

You DO NOT need to wash anything to kill bed bugs. The dryer alone will do the trick.

If you are going to dry your wool you should run the dryer while empty for a few minutes just to be sure that there is no moisture inside.

Sincerely,

Sean.

3. buggyinsocal

oldtimer

Posted 4 years ago
    Sat Dec 12 2009 12:06:06
    #

Login to Send PM

As Sean pointed out, it's the heat that kills the bed bugs, not the laundering process.

I found it useful to use only clothes that could be washed and dried on hot in the house while I was battling bed bugs. I bought a few sets of cheap polo shirts, shorts, and sports bras that I didn't mind ruining, and I wore only those outfits inside the house until I was bed bug free. (Obviously, I had a summer infestation. If it had been a winter infestation, I'd have done the same thing with lounge pants, sweatshirts, and sports bras.)

Any of my more delicate items, once debugged, were worn only outside the house and then immediately put into sealed bags as soon as I got home before I had a chance to even sit down.