Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » General Topics

Test Kit for Fecal Stains? For the pros? Anyone?

(17 posts)
  1. Richard56

oldtimer

Posted 9 years ago
    Wed Sep 29 2010 6:31:55
    #

Login to Send PM

There are relatively inexpensive forensic kits out there that test for human blood. A popular one, for example, uses alcohol, phenolphthalein and hydrogen peroxide. Blood is indicated if a bright pink color is observed within seconds of the hydrogen peroxide being added. The question is would the bright pink color be observed if one tested a bed bug fecal stain? I assume it would since my understanding is that fecal stains are partially digested human blood but really not sure.

Richard

2. bbugophobic

newbite

Posted 9 years ago
    Wed Sep 29 2010 11:50:40
    #

Login to Send PM

Hi Richard,

I'm not a pro, but I can tell you that this is exactly how KillerQueen confirmed my infestation a few weeks ago when we had only the tiniest of fecal stains on our pillows. It was the only visible evidence. I would never have seen them. I've since purchased a kit to test new spots that look like fecal stains. I'm pretty sure KQ may have mentioned this in a post a while ago. Let me know if you decide to proceed. We can compare notes...or horror stories 8O. lol

3. spideyjg

oldtimer

Posted 9 years ago
    Wed Sep 29 2010 12:02:57
    #

Login to Send PM

http://www.onlinesciencemall.com/Shop/Control/Product/fp/SFV/30852/vpid/2584444/vpcsid/0/rid/126318

Fecal traces are digested blood so the properties of these tests may change.

4. queenie

newbite

Posted 9 years ago
    Wed Sep 29 2010 12:13:30
    #

Login to Send PM