Studying abroad and getting bit

(3 posts)
  1. aeloves

newbite

Posted 5 months ago
    Mon Mar 13 2017 7:29:32
    #

Login to Send PM

I'm studying abroad in Spain and I am staying with a homestay. About every week or so I've been getting itchy bites/bumps on my skin that have swollen painfully. First was on my waist and shoulder, next were 2-3 on my ankle, two on my forearm, and now one on my shin. Each time one goes down and stops hurting I seem to get another. I'm starting to panic and have searched my mattress and room several times and found nothing but a few possible bloodstains on my sheets. I can't tell if those are from bites or from me scratching in my sleep. My host mom has sprayed with insecticides, cleaned the sheets and my clothes, and vacuumed the corners around the bed. I'm the only person in the house (which has 4 other people) getting bites. She has offered to have me switch to a new bed but I'm afraid they'll just follow me there.
    My room has a lot of nooks and crannies. My bed is a trundle and I've looked at the other mattress and found nothing. The shelves are full of books and old papers that belong to my host mom and I don't feel comfortable moving. The walls and ceiling are textured and cracked and looking at them I've found only 2 spots that may just be dirt. Going through everything will be a massive chore, and I'm afraid I'm just being paranoid. My only other option is hiring an exterminator, but that cost will fall on me and, being a college student, I don't know if I want to make that investment without major evidence.
    In the meantime, what are recommendations for avoiding getting bitten again? Should I move beds and see what happens? I have a silk/cotton blend sleep sack and a blow up pillow I intended for hostels that I can start using. I have also looked into buying glue traps or something but I need to look around. I'm only here for another 2 months and definitely don't want to bring any unwanted guests back home.