Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Bed bug science, "experiments," etc.

Study on Thermal Death Points...

(8 posts)
  1. mp7ski

Posted 9 months ago
    Fri Jan 13 2017 1:31:02
    #

Login to Send PM

Found a very thorough study on bed bug and bed bug egg thermal death points if anyone was interested. A lot of info and takes a while to sort through it but glad I found it.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://www.propanecouncil.org/uploadedFiles/Council/Research_and_Development/REP_12221%2520Efficacy%2520of%2520Heat%2520on%2520Bed%2520Bugs.pdf&ved=0ahUKEwisyfDZq77RAhWi6oMKHZMqDl4QFggwMAI&usg=AFQjCNFb-Sqbump0m6KRm_lSjsn8ffzmsg&sig2=7N5fnzoSfM0WbIcH7F9bvg

Things get interesting on page 18 of the pdf.
    My take away from it was Temps of 122°F and above killed all stages even after short durations of exposure.

Makes me want to order a packtite!

I am not an expert, any advice I give should be considered as amateur advice and not taken as fact. I mean well with all my posts and try to give back. If you plan on using any of my advice, I suggest doing research into said advice to make sure it is in your best interest.
    Study on Thermal Death Points(pages 18-29 of pdf) : http://www.propanecouncil.org/uploadedFiles/Council/Research_and_Development/REP_12221%20Efficacy%20of%20Heat%20on%20Bed%20Bugs.pdf
    Study on Cimexa: http://www.pctonline.com/article/pct0814-silica-gel-research-bed-bugs/
  2. Poiqm

Account Closed

Posted 9 months ago
    Fri Jan 13 2017 2:14:54
    #

Login to Send PM

Thank you for sharing this.

I've been using some, ahem, unconventional heat treatment methods and I'm definitely ordering a heat box system, or building my own soon.

Account closed
  3. mp7ski

Posted 9 months ago
    Fri Jan 13 2017 2:48:24
    #

Login to Send PM

No problem, I'll be buying either the packtite or packtite closet here soon as well. Just curious as to which gets hotter, quicker.