Got Bed Bugs? Bedbugger Forums » Bed bug science, "experiments," etc.

Science question for experts: bed bugs and oxygen

(14 posts)
  1. battlinbugz

Posted 2 years ago
    Sat Apr 18 2015 12:09:22
    #

Login to Send PM

I remember reading here that bed bugs need very little oxygen to survive.

I caught one, and placed it in a 6.5 x 3.25 inch Ziploc bag, and sealed it. The bug was dead in 24 hours (or less).

Assuming this was a HEALTHY bug that hadn't crossed any poison of any kind, is this what you would expect, given the amount of air in a bag that size? Or does this sound like he was dying anyway?

Not a pro. I have some knowledge and a success story, both thanks to this site.
  2. NoIfsNoBugs

newbite

Posted 2 years ago
    Sat Apr 18 2015 17:26:57
    #

Login to Send PM

And, if I may (no intention to hijack your thread, battlinbugz), I'd like to add to this by asking the related question if is true, as sources such as the following maintain, that talcum powder or even corn starch can suffocate bed bugs inside a vacuum cleaner bag:

https://aging.ohio.gov/resources/publications/HWtoolkit_Bedbugs_Removal.pdf

Vacuum mattresses, bed frames, furniture, floors and carpets, especially in
    cracks and open spaces. When finished, vacuum ΒΌ cup of cornstarch or talcum
    powder to suffocate any bugs in the vacuum, empty it into a plastic bag, seal it
    and dispose of it in the outdoor trash.

If they can survive multiple wash cycles and deep freeze for days, can some talcum powder in the vacuum bag really do them in?

3. P Bello

oldtimer

Posted 2 years ago
    Sat Apr 18 2015 18:26:07
    #

Login to Send PM

Hmmm . . .

While such questions may seem simple enough, there are many complexities which need to be considered including but not limited to the following.

One bug in a bag:
    > What this critter was subject to previously?
    > Age of the critter?
    > Health of the critter?
    > Other factors.

Vacuum question: